New Music Experience: July 30, 2021

Today The New Music Experience (supported by Tennessee Brew Works) is extra smooth show with throwback disco beats and symphonic R&B sharing the sonic space with ethereal indie pop. Even the notoriously noisy band Sleigh Bells take a little bit of the edge off. We’ll hear from the big Nashville release of the week Yola, one of the biggest national releases Silk Sonic, listen in to the interview with WNXP Record of the Week artist Durand Jones & The Indications and a song from one of the anticipated TV series featuring super producer Mark Ronson. We’ll even cap it off with a country song that could become a wedding standard for smart alecks.

We’ll start with a Nashville-based artist who has been hard to find. We were turned on to the music of Terry Presume by the great press shout outs he received from the Fader, New York Times, Pigeons and Planes etc. calling the newcomer one to watch. But when we asked around, no one seemed to know him. After some digging, we discovered he was originally from Florida, spent time in L.A. and moved to Nashville recently after signing with September management (Adele, Bakar, Glass Animals) and their associated record label. His debut EP out this week What Box? is aptly named as it doesn’t fit easily into any category — R&B? Maybe. Indie? Sure. Rap? Sometimes. Like so many exciting new artists Presume looks right past genre when making music and says of the release What Box? embodies the idea of “escaping the limiting stereotypes this world has provided.

  1. Terry Presume “Act Up”
  2. Mark Ronson feat. Santigold, Kathleen Hanna “Do You Do You Know”
  3. Jungle “Truth”
  4. Yola “Dancing Away In Tears”
  5. Loma “Going Out”
  6. Silk Sonic “Skate”  
  7. Jelani Aryeh “Stella Brown”
  8. Interview with Durand Jones & the Indications  
  9. LUMP “Gamma Ray”
  10. Sleigh Bells “Locust Laced”
  11. Hayes Carll “You Get It All”